I have been thinking about golf a lot lately because I keep seeing commercials for the Masters in April (CANT WAIT). That being said, here is a true story about a devastating moment in my high school golf career.
As I walked into the clubhouse, I looked at the “84” on my scorecard with pride; it was the best round of golf I had ever played. I signed the scorecard, confirming that the scores added up correctly, and turned it into the sectional tournament officials. Unfortunately, because so many schools were competing, I knew I had no chance qualifying for the district tournament–I had already seen two scores under 80 posted up on the scoreboard.
About an hour later, one of my teammates walked over to where I was sitting to inform me that my score was tied for the 4th spot with two other competitors–the top 4 scorers would be headed to the district tournament. In order to determine which golfer headed to districts, a playoff hole would be played to determine the spot. I could not believe that I had a chance at making it to the next tournament, but at the same time was very nervous about the sudden death playoff. I headed outside of the clubhouse to swing my clubs to loosen up my sore body from the four hour round played prior to the playoff.
Once the two other players and I competing for the final spot for the playoff approached the tee box, the nerves kicked in, as nearly 30 people surrounded us. Unfortunately, those nerves got the best of me, and I would go on to lose the playoff. But, as I walked back to the clubhouse nearly in tears, I realized that a playoff never should have happened. The stress– all the nerves building up to the playoff… none of that wasn’t supposed to ever happen.
It was the 15th hole; I had just birdied the previous hole, and the confidence continued to grow as I realized how well I was playing. I hit my drive just left of the fairway, another competitor hit his drive right down the center, and the other golfer–who had trouble with his golf game the majority of the day–barely got his golf ball past the tee box. We all headed to find our golf balls, but I had to stop to allow the struggling golfer hit his second shot. I should’ve known that his second shot would not be turning out very well.
Sure enough, his second shot nearly hit me, and it ended up hitting my golf bag; in golf, if you are to hit another player’s bag, the player whose bag was hit is given a two stroke penalty. Both players weren’t acquainted with some of golf’s specific rules, but I knew that it was a two stroke penalty. That being said, I enforced the penalty on myself, and finished out the hole with two extra strokes added on.
Honesty is key y’all.
I really miss golf. I was so hesitant to try out my freshman year, but I am so glad I went for it, because it is something I will forever cherish, despite the twists and turns my golf game took.
Uhhhh side note: How bout this National Championship game?!? Wow. Still not as good as the last National Championship ¯\_(ツ)_/¯